Prudenti Increases E-filing Requirements, Options

, New York Law Journal


Mandatory electronic filing has been expanded to include some Supreme Court filings in Onondaga and Suffolk counties under a directive from Chief Administrative Judge A. Gail Prudenti. (See Profile)

E-filing in Onondaga County applies to all proceedings except matrimonial, Mental Hygiene Law, foreclosure actions and a handful of other exceptions, according to a Unified Court System memo from Prudenti. The filing requirement in Suffolk County pertains to small claims proceedings under Real Property Tax Law §730 and foreclosure actions addressing real property and mechanics liens.

In addition, Prudenti said consensual e-filing is being introduced for most Supreme Court actions in Cortland and Dutchess counties and for Surrogate's Court in Cattaraugus and Niagara counties.

A pilot program of consensual e-filing started in Rockland County on Monday, she said.

Prudenti noted that Gov. Andrew Cuomo signed A6551/S4833 into law last year, which provided for mandatory e-filing in civil actions in Nassau County with some exceptions, such as matrimonial actions.

E-filing is required in some courts in the Bronx, Brooklyn and Manhattan and outside the city in Erie, Essex, Nassau, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester counties.

Prudenti is empowered by the Legislature to offer consensual e-filing in all civil cases in Supreme Court, Surrogate's Court, the Court of Claim and Civil Court in New York City.

She has also been authorized to require e-filing in some courts in New York City and in Erie, Livingston, Monroe, Rockland, Tompkins, Allegany, Essex, Onondaga, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties.

The state has established a system for e-filings called NYSCEF or New York State Courts Electronic Filing.

What's being said

Comments are not moderated. To report offensive comments, click here.

Preparing comment abuse report for Article# 1202637285281

Thank you!

This article's comments will be reviewed.